The Language of Feelings
by David Viscott

1. The importance of feelings in what we perceive.
2. Negative feelings - have the impact of loss. Hurt is the feeling you have lost something.
3. Positive feelings - creative works, acts of love, give a sense of renewal
4. Defenses - block unpleasant (and pleasant) memories.

5. Types of loss - love, control, self-esteem. Common thread - must be 'perfect'.

6. Best way to adapt to reality - accept personal vulnerability.
7. Compulsive symptoms - to ward off, undo 'bad' feelings.
8. Note physical symptoms of 'hurt', tension.
9. Stress hormones - make our minds race.
10. Using novels and plays to create tangible opponents, mythizing the abstract (like red tape).
11. Defenses - delaying tactics, slow reactions, protect.



12. Anxiety - fear of loss (hurt); don't ignore, must accept personal limitations.
13. Prejudices - resevoirs of bad feelings.
14. Anger - from being hurt. Trouble when anger festers inside. Try not to modify feelings to be more acceptable to others.
15. Guilt - anger turned against oneself.
16. Depressions - anger turned to hatred. All energy to internal struggle.
17. Getting angry/crying - not out of control, expressing intense feelings.
18. Sense of other's presence - their 'aura'.


Book Notes
Copyright 2005